of strategic resources important for the defence of Canada and its allies; and to ensure adequate supplies of essential materials and services for defence requirements. The main procurement units of the Department are six production branches—Aircraft, Ammunition, Electronics, Gun, Machine Tool and Shipbuilding—and a General Purchasing Branch. Major offices for foreign procurement are located at London, England, and Washington, U.S.A.; the General Purchasing Branch has 14 district purchasing offices located throughout Canada for local or urgent procurement. In addition, there are various service branches which include Administration, Comptroller's, Economics and Statistics, Financial Adviser's, Industrial Security, Legal, and Secretary's.

The following Crown companies report to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production: Canadian Arsenals Limited, Canadian Commercial Corporation, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation, Defence Construction (1951) Limited, and Polymer Corporation Limited.

**Dominion Bureau of Statistics.**—The Dominion Bureau of Statistics was set up by statute in 1918 as a central statistical department for Canada (SC 1918, c. 43). In 1948 this statute, which had been consolidated as the Statistics Act (RSC 1927, c. 190), was repealed and replaced by the Statistics Act (RSC 1952, c. 257); it was amended by SC 1952-53, c. 18, assented to Mar. 31, 1953.

The function of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyse and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct a census of population and agriculture of Canada as required under the Act.

The Bureau is a major publication agency of the Federal Government; the subjects of its reports cover all aspects of the national economy. The administrative head of the Bureau is the Dominion Statistician who reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

**Department of External Affairs.**—This Department was established in 1909 by "An Act to create a Department of External Affairs" (RSC 1952, c. 68). Its main function is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The head of the Department of External Affairs is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer of the Department is the Under-Secretary (Deputy Minister) who is the chief adviser to the Secretary of State for External Affairs, and by four Assistant Under-Secretaries, one of whom is Legal Adviser, and is advised by officers in charge of the various divisions, each responsible for a part of the work of the Department. The divisional heads are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, Administrative Officers and by an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as High Commissioners, Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First, Second, Third Secretaries and Attachés at diplomatic posts and as Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. About 65 diplomatic and consular posts are maintained abroad.

The work of the Department at Ottawa is performed by 20 divisions, which may be grouped according to their functions into three categories—political, functional and administrative. There are five political divisions—American, Commonwealth, European, Middle Eastern and Far Eastern; ten functional divisions—Communications, Consular, Defence Liaison (1) and (2), Economic (1) and (2), Information, Legal, Historical Research and Reports, Protocol and United Nations; and four administrative divisions—Administrative Services, Finance, Personnel, and Supplies and Properties. There are also three smaller sections—Inspection Service, Political Co-ordination Section and the Press Office.

**Department of Finance.**—This Department, created on June 22, 1869 by an Act respecting the Department of Finance (SC 1869, c. 4), is under the authority of the Minister of Finance. The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada including raising the money required for the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all Government disbursements. The work of the Department is organized in six principal divisions: Administration, Economic and International Affairs, Federal-Provincial Relations, Farm Improvement Loans, Taxation and Treasury Board. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department and the Inspector General of Banks is an officer of the Department.

The Tariff Board is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

**Department of Fisheries.**—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that date the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulations of coastal and freshwater fisheries is with the federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: conservation and development of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry. The Department administers the Fishermen's Indemnity Plan to assist fishermen in the event of loss or serious damage to their fishing vessels or lobster traps.